1999 Quill award winners

Tattersall’s Gold Quill
Julie-Anne Davies The Age

Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award
John Lyons The Bulletin

Lifetime Achievement Award
Les Tanner The Age

Young Journalist of the Year
Gerard Whateley Channel 10

Grant Hattam Award
Sander Thoenes London Financial Times

Best News Report in Print
John Lyons The Bulletin

Best News/Magazine Features
Julie-Anne Davies The Age

Best Columnist
Lawrence Money The Age

Best Sports Story in any Medium
Michael Sheahan Herald Sun

Best Rural Story in any Medium
Tim Lee Landline

Best Radio News Report
Paul Bentley 3AW

Best Radio Current Affairs Report
Neil Mitchell 3AW

Best Television News Report
Mike Amor Channel 7

Best TV Camerawork News and Current Affairs
Phillip Hankin Dateline, SBS

Best News Photograph
John Feder The Australian

Best Illustration / Graphic Design in Print or TV
Albert Ricardo Herald Sun

Best Business Story in any Medium
David Elias The Age

Best Features Photograph
Jason South The Age

Best Sports Photograph
Pat Scala The Age

Best Cartoon
Peter Nicholson The Australian

Best Television Current Affairs Report
Joint Award:
Mark O’Brien and Peter Blenkinsop Today Tonight, Channel 7
Jill Singer and Neheda Barakat 7.30 Report, ABC

RACV Transport Quill
Joint Award:
Sushi Das The Age
Andrew Rule The Age

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.