2000 Quill award winners

Tattersall’s Gold Quill
Andrew Probyn and Michael Harvey Herald Sun

Grant Hattam Award
Geoff Wilkinson Herald Sun

Adrian Anderson Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Young Journalist of the Year
Ben Hart Herald Sun

Lifetime Achievement Award
Peter Game Herald Sun

RACV Transport Quill in Memory & Honour of Frank Green
Belinda Hawkins SBS

Best News Report in Print
Steve Butcher The Age

Best Feature in Print
Keith Moor Herald Sun

Best TV News Report
Wayne Dyer Nine Network

Best TV Current Affairs/Feature
Kate Torney and Neheda Barakat ABC 7.30 Report

Best Radio News Report
Mitchell Catlin 3AW

Best Radio Current Affairs
Neil Mitchell 3AW

Best News Photograph
Cameron Tandy The Australian

Best Sports Photograph
David Caird Herald Sun

Best Features Photograph
Jason South The Age

Best Columnist
Tim Colebatch The Age

Best Sports Story in any Medium
Katrina Beikoff Herald Sun

Best Business Story in any Medium
David Elias The Age

Best TV Camera Work in News
Seven News Melbourne Seven Network

Best TV Camera Work in Current Affairs
Peter Drought Australian Story, ABC TV

Best Cartoon
Peter Nicholson The Australian

Best Deadline Report in any Medium
Andrew Probyn and Michael Harvey Herald Sun

Best International/National Report in any Medium
Lindsay Murdoch The Age

Best Investigative Report in any Medium
John Silvester The Age

Best Online Report
Mark Forbes and Hamish Fitzsimmons The Age

Best Suburban or Regional Report in any Medium
Alistair Paton Bendigo Advertiser

Best Three Headlines
Murray Cadan Leader Newspapers

Best Page Layout
Heather Kiley Herald Sun

Best Illustration in Print
No award

Best Graphic Design in Print
Garry Bryar Herald Sun

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.