2005 Quill award winners


The Tattersall’s Gold Quill
Martine Griffiths Network Ten News

The Graham Perkin Award for the Australian Journalist of the Year

Michael Gordon The Age

Lifetime Achievement Award
John Fitzgerald

Young Journalist of the Year Award
Christian Catalano The Age

RACV Transport Quill
Dan Silkstone and Royce Millar The Age

Grant Hattam Quill Award for Investigative Journalism in any Medium
Russell Robinson Herald Sun

Best Columnist
Sushi Das The Age

Best Sports Story in any Medium
Cameron Stewart The Australian

Best Business Story in any Medium
Adele Ferguson BRW

Best TV Camerawork in News and Current Affairs
David Anderson ABC Asia Pacific News

Best News Photograph
Craig Borrow Herald Sun

Best Sports Photograph
Darren McNamara Herald Sun

Best Features Photograph
Sandra Scheltema The Age

Best Three Headlines in any Medium
Mark Baker The Age

Best Page Layout
Bill Farr The Age

Best Illustration in any Medium
Ron Tandberg The Age

Best Graphics in any Medium
Garry Bryar Herald Sun

Best Cartoon
Mark Knight Herald Sun

Best Deadline Report in any Medium
Tim Palmer Insiders, ABC TV

Best Online Report
The Age/SMH Online Teams

Best Suburban or Regional Report in any Medium
Danny Lannen Geelong Advertiser

Best Rural Affairs Report in any Medium
Joanne Shoebridge Landline, ABC TV

Best TV News Report
Martine Griffiths Network Ten News

Best Radio News Report
Phil Johnson 3AW

Best TV Current Affairs Report
Josephine Cafagna Stateline, ABC TV

Best Radio Current Affairs Report
Nick McKenzie ABC Radio

Best News Report in Print
Andra Jackson The Age

Best Feature in Print
Gary Tippet Sunday Age



Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.