2009 Quill Award winners

See 2009 Quills overview

Young Journalist of the Year
Drew Ambrose, ABC

RACV Transport Quill

Fiona Hudson, Herald Sun and heraldsun.com.au

Best Columnist/Blogger
Tony Wright, The Age

Best News Photograph
Alex Coppel, Sunday Herald Sun

Best Sports Photograph

Best Features Photograph
Craig Borrow, Herald Sun

Best Three Headlines in any Medium
Louise Browne, Progress Leader & Manningham Leader

Best Cartoon
Peter Nicholson, The Australian

Best Coverage of an Issue or Event
The Age, The Sunday Age & The Age Online

Grant Hattam Quill for Investigative Journalism
Cameron Stewart, The Australian

Best TV Camerawork in News and Current Affairs
Will Pristel, Seven News

Best Illustration in any Medium
Fay Plamka, Seven News & ABC News

Best Graphics in any Medium
Simon Schneider & Olivia Desianti, Herald Sun

Best Use of the Online Medium
Priscilla Davies & Drew Ambrose

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bruce Petty, The Age

Best Sports Story in any Medium
Samantha Lane, The Age

Best Business Story in any Medium
Pamela Williams, Australian Financial Review

Best Suburban Report in Print
Wes Hosking, Mordialloc Chelsea Leader

Best Regional or Rural Affairs Report in any Medium
Royce Millar, The Age

Best Deadline Report in any Medium
Greg Baum, The Age

Best TV News Report
Norman C. Beaman, Seven News

Best Radio News Report
Jane Cowan, ABC Radio

Best TV Current Affairs/Feature
Quentin McDermott, Sarah Curnow, Alec Cullen, Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Four Corners, ABC

Best Radio Current Affairs Report
Neil Mitchell, 3AW

Best News Report in Print
Richard Baker, Philip Dorling & Nick McKenzie, The Age

Best Feature in Print
Cameron Stewart & Corrie Perkin, The Weekend Australian

Monash University Gold Quill
Cameron Stewart, The Australian

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.