2011 Student Journalists of the Year

RMIT students Jane Vashti Ryan and Harrison Tippet, the winners of the 2011 Siemens Award for Student Journalism for their report 'The Invisible Line', broadcast on Newsline, Channel 31.

Belinda White from Siemens presented them with their prize – $2,000, tickets to the Quill Awards and one week of work experience at The Herald Sun.

The report focused on the social divide and inequity created by the arbitrary and invisible boundary that separates inner and outer regional students applying for the Independent Youth Allowance.

The winning entry

Highly Commended

Congratulations also to La Trobe University of Technology student Mathew Smith for his Highly Commended report, 'Future Tense', which aired on ABC Radio National.

 Presentation by Club President Mark Baker and interview with Jane and Harrison

The judges, Genevieve Brammall, Brett McLeod and Rob Curtain, said of the report:

“The entrants, Jane and Harrison, have crafted a highly watchable story which maintains the viewer interest from beginning to end. They have used the TV medium to great effect, travelling to Eildon to capture the vision of the ‘invisible line’ that divides inner and outer students applying for the independent Youth Allowance. The piece is backed and informed by sound research. It is an interesting yarn on a solid issue which would not be out of place in an evening news bulletin. A worthy winner in a strong field.”

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.