Since November 30, 1971.

2016 Harry Gordon award eligibility and criteria

Who is eligible?

The Gordon Award is open to any Australian journalist in any media whose work was published or broadcast in 2016. Nominees may enter themselves or be nominated by their editors or colleagues.

By accepting the prize, the winner agrees, if requested, to speak at an event hosted by the Melbourne Press Club within a year of the presentation. They also acknowledge the right of the Club to republish or rebroadcast the winner’s work in promoting the Award.

Judging criteria

The judges are looking for sports journalism that is memorable and excellent - in print, in the broadcast media or online. They are seeking a winner whose work is consistent with the standard of journalism practised by Harry Gordon. They are looking for great news reporting, story-telling, commentary, analysis and presenting. They recognise the impact of a big breaking story or a game-changing revelation but they also give weight to consistent achievement of a high standard. Above all they will recognise journalists whose work has enriched the sports they cover and the experience of their audience.


Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.