2017 Quill Awards for excellence in Victorian journalism

The Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism are the premier media awards in Victoria.

The Quills were established by the Melbourne Press Club in 1995, with 10 awards. This year we celebrate the best work in 29 categories across a range of platforms and reporting areas.

Since 1995, the prestigious Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award has been presented at the Quills dinner.

Since 2015, the Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year Award has also been announced at the Quills dinner. The award celebrates excellence in sports journalism across all codes and all parts of Australia and carries a $10,000 prize.

The best category winner of the Quills is selected as the Gold Quill winner, with a $7,500 prize provided by principal sponsor Virgin Australia.

See all the 2017 Quill winners

Photos and videos from the Quills

View this year's Quill categories

Read the Conditions of Entry and Judging Criteria

Read the FAQs

History of the Quills

See highlights from the 2016 Quills

See past winners

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.