2021 Gordon Award winner Michael Warner

Michael Warner has been named the 2021 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year for "fearless and ferocious" reporting on the culture of the AFL.


Judges' citation

Michael has been awarded the Gordon Award for fearless and ferocious investigative reporting on the culture of the nation’s biggest sporting body, the AFL His work is showcased in his bestselling book, The Boys’ Club, and in breaking big exclusive stories leading the news agenda in the Collingwood Football Club racism row and the subsequent resignation of the club's president. 


The winning entry

Michael Warner, Herald Sun, for coverage and commentary on the AFL

The Boys Club book, Hachette
'Magpies racism shame,' Herald Sun, 1 February 2021
Pride after fall, Herald Sun, 10 February 2021

Other finalists

Greg Baum, The Age, for coverage and commentary on the AFL

Jonathan Horn, The Guardian, for coverage and commentary on Melbourne sport

Linda Pearce, CODE Sports, for coverage of Australian sport at home and abroad

Read more about 2021 Gordon award finalists' entries

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.