Four on shortlist for Journalist of the Year

This article was originally published in March 2015. 

A short list of four entrants has been announced for the 2014 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award.

The four are: Phillip Williams, of ABC Television, for his reports on the crisis in Ukraine and the downing of Flight MH17; Adele Ferguson, of The Age, for her exposure of the financial advice scandal at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia; Chris Reason, of the Seven Network, for his marathon live reporting of the Lindt Café siege; and John Silvester, of The Age, for his columns, multi-media crime reporting and the television documentary Trigger Point on police involved in fatal shootings.

The 2014 award is the 39th annual Perkin Award, which is named after the legendary editor of The Age who died suddenly in 1975 at the age of 45.

It is awarded to a single piece of work or a portfolio that is excellent and memorable.

Past winners include Jack Waterford, Kate Legge, Cameron Stewart, Peter Wilson, Pamela Williams, Michelle Grattan, Michael Gordon, Caroline Wilson and Andrew Rule.

With a prize of $20,000, the Perkin Award is Australia’s richest for journalism.

It is administered independently by the Melbourne Press Club, and the cash prize is supplied by The Age.

This year’s judges of the award are Laura Tingle, Laurie Oakes and Jill Baker.

The winner will be announced at the Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards Dinner in Melbourne on Friday 20 March.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.