Press Council appoints new chair

The Australian Press Council has appointed a former senior federal bureaucrat as its new chair.

Neville Stevens retired as Secretary of the Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts in 2001. Since then, he has chaired a number of public and private organisations and conducted several federal government reviews.

Mr Stevens replaces Professor David Weisbrot who stepped down in July after two years in the role.

More on the appointment from the Press Council

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.