Since November 30, 1971.

Should this image be photo of the year?

The winning photograph by Burhan Özbilici of Mevlut Mert Altintas standing over Andrei Karlov, the Russian ambassador to Turkey. Photograph: Burhan Ozbilici/The Associated Press

Turkish photographer Burhan Özbilici has won the World Press Photo of the Year award, despite a dissenting opinion from jury chair Stuart Franklin.

In a commentary published by the Guardian, Franklin expressed his concern that awarding the photo gives further advertisement to a grievous act of terror.

Read more about this year's World Press Photo award winners at the ABC.


Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $85 for journalists, $110 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.