Enter Now! The 2019 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award

Visit the Graham Perkin award home page for entries and information

Entries are now open for the 2019 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award – the most coveted prize in Australian journalism.

The award – now in its 44th year – is open to all Australian journalists in all media and recognises memorable and extraordinary work.

Named in honour of legendary editor Graham Perkin, the award carries a $20,000 prize supported by The Age, Perkin’s old newspaper. It is co-sponsored by Virgin Australia, a Principal Sponsor of the Melbourne Press Club.

The deadline for all entries is Friday 31 January 2020.

Finalists will be named by early March, and winners announced at the Melbourne Press Club’s annual Quill awards dinner at Crown Palladium in Melbourne on Friday 6 March 2020. Bookings for the dinner will open in early February.

For full conditions and online entries visit the Graham Perkin home page.

Send all enquiries to or phone (03) 9614 2779.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.