Media Legends of New South Wales

A random selection of News South Wales and Victorian inductees into the Australian Media Hall of Fame

See the Media Legends of NSW ebook

Twenty-eight New South Wales media pioneers have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame, which celebrates how great journalism has enriched the history of the nation.

The inductees are from the first 150 years of settlement. They will be joined by more than 50 other late and living legends from NSW - journalists, photographers, broadcasters and cartoonists - at a dinner in Sydney in November to formally inaugurate the national project of the Media Hall of Fame

The 28 inducted on 4 August include the founders of the Packer and Fairfax dynasties as well as photographers and cartoonists who defined the modern forms of their craft. Great storytellers include Henry Lawson, Banjo Paterson and Mary Gilmore.

The Australian Media Hall of Fame is an initiative of the Melbourne Press Club aimed at celebrating through individual stories how journalism has benefitted the Australian public and shaped our history. 

Melbourne Press Club CEO Mark Baker said journalism had played a vital role in exposing corruption in all levels of government, business and other institutions for more than two centuries.

“It is important that the public understands this when the traditional business models of journalism are being challenged and people are being asked to pay for journalism in new ways,” Baker said.

“The Media Hall of Fame shows how great journalism matters and is worth paying for, indeed is vital for the continued health of our democracy.”

The NSW inductees will join 81 Victorians already inducted into the Hall of Fame. Inductees from other states and territories around Australia will be announced next year.

A display of cartoonist inductees from Victoria is currently at the State Library of Victoria. Other exhibitions are planned.

The judges for the NSW selections were former Fairfax editor Michael Smith (chair), veteran media commentator Mark Day, media historian Professor Bridget Griffen-Foley of Macquarie University and Guardian photographer Mike Bowers.

Visit the Australian Media Hall of Fame website

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.