Nick McKenzie recognised with MPC life membership

The board of the Melbourne Press Club has unanimously agreed to confer the honour of life membership on Nick McKenzie.

The board and management of the MPC congratulates Nick on this outstanding achievement.

Nick made an outstanding contribution to the club as president from the June 2020 AGM until June 2022.

He continues to serve the club as our vice president.

Nick is an award-winning investigative reporter for The Age and Sydney Morning Herald. His individual and collaborative work covers politics, business, foreign affairs, defence, human rights issues, the criminal justice system and social affairs.

Over 18 years in the industry he has become one of Australia’s most decorated journalists, winning 12 Walkley Awards and countless MPC Quill Awards. Alongside colleagues at The Age, he has won the exemplary MPC Gold three times. Nick has also claimed several honours at the Kennedy Awards, including recently being named Journalist of the Year for a second time.

The MPC congratulates Nick and acknowledges our gratitude for the service he offers to the club and our membership.

Twenty-two life members are now recognised by the MPC, and we express our gratitude for their past and present services to the club.

Life Members include Mark Baker, Peter Bartlett, Eileen Berry, Jim Clarke, Rob Curtain, Adele Ferguson, Claude Forell, Steve Harris, Ian Henderson, Sue Henderson, Bob Kearsley, Nick McKenzie, Neil Mitchell, Laurie Oakes, David Poulton, Mike Richards, Michael Rowland, Mike Smith, Bernard Teague, John Trevorrow, Michael Venus and Sally White.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.