The 2018 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year

Visit the Graham Perkin award home page for entries and information

Entries have opened for the most coveted prize in Australian journalism - the 2018 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award.

The award – now in its 43rd year – is open to all Australian journalists in all media and recognises memorable and extraordinary work.

Named in honour of legendary editor Graham Perkin, the award carries a $20,000 prize supported by The Age, Perkin’s old newspaper. It is co-sponsored by Virgin Australia, a Principal Sponsor of the Melbourne Press Club.

The deadline for all entries is Thursday 31 January 2019.

Finalists will be named in early March and winners announced at the Melbourne Press Club’s annual Quill awards dinner at Crown Palladium in Melbourne on Friday 15 March. Bookings for the dinner will open in early February.

For full conditions and online entries visit the Graham Perkin home page.

Send all enquiries to or phone (03) 9614 2779.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.