28th Quill Awards – Finalists

The MPC is thrilled to announce the finalists for our 28th Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism.

Finalists for each category are listed below, alphabetically by surname of primary entrant. The 2022 Student Journalist of the Year finalist list is also presented.

Winners will be announced at the 28th Quill Awards Dinner on Friday 24 March 2023. Book your tickets now.

See also: 47th Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year finalists, 8th Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year finalists

The 28th Quill Awards covers work published in the 2022 calendar year.

Please note: links are not available for all stories, and may not comprise the full entry submitted for consideration.




  • Matthew Davidson, The Age, “Jack's Story
  • Richard Giliberto, The Age, “Stormy Weather”


Best Breaking News or Live Coverage

  • 7NEWS Melbourne, “Victoria's Flood Emergency”
  • The Age online team, The Age, “Djokovic deportation saga
  • Nine News Melbourne, “Maribyrnong Flood Special Coverage”
  • Sarah Jane Bell, Ethan St Ellen and Roland Pagels, Sunrise, “Maribyrnong Flood”


Best Coverage of an Issue



  • Matthew Davidson, The Age, “Whiplash economics succession”
  • Andrew Dyson, The Age, “Off-Leash Area”
  • Matt Golding, The Age, “Indigenous voice to Parliament”


Business News/Feature, sponsored by McGrathNicol


Coverage of Women in Sport, sponsored by the Office for Women in Sport and Recreation

  • Jeremy Story Carter, ABC National Regional Reporting Team, “Is this Australia's coolest footy team?
  • Sam Landsberger, Herald Sun, “Female umpire abuse shame”
  • Mark Robinson, Herald Sun, “To Hell and Back”
  • Lauren Wood, Herald Sun, “Enough is enough: AFLW conditions laid bare”


Excellence in Indigenous Affairs Reporting, sponsored by the Federation of Victorian Traditional Owner Corporations


Excellence in Science, Medical and Health Reporting, sponsored by University of Melbourne

  • Melissa Davey, Guardian Australia, “Generation Vape
  • Tania Ewing, Cosmos Magazine, “The Clinical Trial That Learnt On The Go”
  • Amalyah Hart, Cosmos Magazine, “Model or monster?”
  • Pallavi Singhal, Nick O’Malley, Daniel Carter and Mark Stehle, The Age, “Silent Killer


Feature Writing


Features Photograph

  • Alex Coppel, Herald Sun, “Underwater Babies”
  • Christopher Hopkins, Guardian Australia, “Heaven is the Place where there is no Harm”
  • Eddie Jim, The Age, "Graduation"
  • Justin McManus, The Age, “Johnny and his Dogs: Fighting Fracking”


Grant Hattam Quill for Investigative Journalism, sponsored by HWT

  • Stephanie Convery, Emma Kemp and Melissa Davey, Guardian Australia, “The gaping hole in sport’s concussion policies
  • Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer, 60 Minutes, “Trafficked
  • Kate McClymont and Thea Dikeos, 60 Minutes and The Age, “The Price of Hope
  • Josie Taylor and Matilda Marozzi, ABC News, “Victoria Police officers weaponising database to target women”


Innovation in Journalism, sponsored by Ryman Healthcare


Keith Dunstan Quill for Commentary


Multicultural Affairs and Media, in partnership with Gandel Foundation


News Photograph

  • Jason Edwards, Herald Sun, “The Bulldozer”
  • Darren Howe, Bendigo Advertiser, “Angels On My Shoulders”
  • Justin McManus, The Age, “Rochester Floods”
  • Darrian Traynor, Getty Images, “A dark day”


News Report in Writing



  • Richard Baker, Kate Cole-Adams, Julia Carr-Catzel and, Kyle Hopkins, The Age, “The Confession
  • John Silvester, Tammy Mills, Margaret Gordon and Hanna Mills Turbet, The Age, “Naked City”
  • Harrison Tippet, Geelong Advertiser, “Death interrupted
  • Jewel Topsfield, Sophie Aubrey and Margaret Gordon, The Age, “Enough”


Radio Current Affairs


Radio News

The judges in this category decided on a winner only, rather than selecting a shortlist. The award winner will be announced along with the other Quills winners.


Regional and Rural Journalism, sponsored by TAC

  • Bonnie Barkmeyer, WIN News Victoria, “Central Victorian Flood Emergency”
  • Hayley Elg and Timothy Cox, The Ballarat News, “Ballarat Clarendon College allegations”
  • Fiona Myers, The Weekly Times, “FMD Time Bomb”
  • Harrison Tippet, Geelong Advertiser, “Institutional abuse: A city's scars laid bare


Reporting on Disability Issues, sponsored by the Victorian Government


Scoop of the Year

  • Mark Buttler, Anthony Dowsley and Aneeka Simonis, Herald Sun, “Jailhouse Mastermind Sting”
  • Annika Smethurst and Paul Sakkal, The Age, “Victorian Liberals' donor scandal”


Sports Feature


Sports News

  • Sam Landsberger, Herald Sun, “Dons' holy fail”
  • Mark Robinson, Herald Sun, “Like the Russian Mafia”
  • Michael Warner, Herald Sun, “Demons’ Secret Hell”


Sports Photograph

  • Eddie Jim, The Age, “The G.O.A.T”
  • Jake Nowakowski, Herald Sun, “Kambosos Jr vs. Haney”
  • Darrian Traynor, Getty Images, “El Toro”
  • Michael Willson,, “Buddy Beauty”


TV Camera Work (Creative)


TV Camera Work (Shot of the Year)

  • Malcom Corp, Nine News Melbourne, “Wild Rampage”
  • Grant Stevenson, 7NEWS Melbourne, “Chase Terror”
  • Simon Tucci, ABC News Breakfast, “Journalist celebrates when Socceroos qualify for World Cup”
  • Dean Wood, 10 News First, “Drive-by ambush”


TV/Video Feature


TV/Video News



Early career awards


MPC Student Journalist of the Year


Young Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Wilnic Family Trust

  • Grace Baldwin, Herald Sun
  • Sarah Booth, Herald Sun
  • Claudia Forsberg, ABC News and ABC Ballarat
  • Gillian Lantouris, Nine News



Inquiries: or 03 8080 3610

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.