47th Perkin Award – Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 47th Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year.

The award honours the memory of celebrated Age editor Graham Perkin and carries a $10,000 cash prize.

On the judging panel were The Australian's Helen Trinca, ABC News' Michael Rowland, and The Age's Michelle Griffin.

The winner will be announced at the 28th Quill Awards Dinner on Friday 24 March 2023. Book your tickets now.



Finalists for the 47th Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year award are presented alphabetically by surname below. Please note that some work submitted with entries – including print materials – may not be included.


Hedley Thomas, National Chief Correspondent, The Australian, for coverage of the criminal justice system

'Shandee's Story', The Australian, March – December 2022
'The Teacher's Trial', The Australian, May – December 2022
'The Search for Justice', Sky News Australia, June 2022


Adele Ferguson, Investigative Journalist, for investigation of fraud and misconduct in the health sector

'Expert estimates $8 billion a year lost to Medicare fraud and waste', 7.30, 18 October 2022
'Should the Medicare system be overhauled?', 7.30, 14 December 2022
'A Bad Look', 60 Minutes, 9 June 2022
'A Worse Look', 60 Minutes
'The glitz and the gore: Behind the scenes of a celebrity cosmetic surgeon’s ‘abattoir’ practice', Sydney Morning Herald, 10 June 2022


Chris Reason, Chief Reporter, Seven Network, for coverage of the war in Ukraine

'Frontline Ukraine', 7NEWS, from 24 February 2022


Inquiries: or 03 8080 3610

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.