48th Perkin Award – Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 48th Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year.

The award honours the memory of celebrated Age editor Graham Perkin and carries a $10,000 cash prize from the paper.

On the judging panel were Monique Farmer of the Sydney Morning Herald and The Age, ABC News' Michael Rowland, and The Australian's Cameron Stewart.

The winner will be announced at the 29th Quill Awards Dinner on Friday 15 March 2024. Book your tickets now.



Finalists for the 48th Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year award are presented alphabetically by surname below. Please note that some work submitted with entries – including print materials – may not be included.


Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros of The Australian Financial Review for coverage of the PwC Tax Leaks Scandal


Stephanie March of the ABC for coverage of global affairs


Kate McClymont of the Sydney Morning Herald for coverage of indecent assault claims against broadcaster Alan Jones


Nick Mckenzie of The Age for agenda-setting reporting


Inquiries: or 03 8080 3610

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.