9th Gordon Award – Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 9th Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year.

Judges for the 2023 award were Bev O'Connor of the ABC, Nick Richardson of the Melbourne Press Club, and Chloe Saltau of Nine.

The winner will be announced at the 29th Quill Awards Dinner on Friday 15 March 2024. Book your tickets now.



Finalists for the 9th Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year award are presented alphabetically by surname below. Please note that some work submitted with entries – including print materials – may not be included.


Tom Decent, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age

Michael Gleeson, The Age

Jake Niall, The Age

Linda Pearce, CODE Sports

  • Inside the dysfunctional birth of Collingwood netball, 16 May 2023
  • 'A disaster': How powerful Pies fell to the brink of oblivion, 17 May 2023
  • 'We're the big guys': How footy hubris hobbled Pies, 20 May 2023
  • Shambles': How SSN saga drained Shimona's hope and motivation, 11 September 2023
  • WHY NA board should follow Ryan in full netball reset, 12 December 2023


Inquiries: or 03 8080 3610

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.