2001 Quill award winners

Tattersall’s Gold Quill
Andrew Rule The Age

Grant Hattam Award
Michael Gawenda The Age

Young Journalist of the Year
Rebecca Urban Leader Community Newspapers

Lifetime Achievement Award
John Sorell Nine Network

RACV Transport Quill
Fiona Hudson Herald Sun

Best News Report in Print
Mark Dunn Herald Sun

Best Feature in Print
Mary-Anne Toy The Age

Best News Photograph
Craig Borrow Herald Sun

Best Sports Photograph
Sebastian Costanzo The Age

Best Features Photograph
Stuart McEvoy Leader Community Newspapers

Best TV Current Affairs/Feature
Josephine Cafagna Stateline, ABC TV

Best Radio Current Affairs Report
Michele Fonseca ABC Radio Current Affairs

Best TV News Report
Gerard Whateley Seven Network

Best Radio News Report
Paul Bentley 3AW

Best Columnist
Ross Brundrett & Robyn Riley Herald Sun

Best Sports Story in any Medium
Michael Sheahan Herald Sun

Best Business Story in any Medium
Malcolm Maiden The Age

Best TV Camerawork in News
No award

Best TV Camerawork in Current Affairs
Matt Koopmans Today, Nine Network

Best Cartoon
Mark Knight Herald Sun

Best Deadline Report in any Medium
Herald Sun News Team Herald Sun

Best Investigative Report in any Medium
Andrew Rule The Age

Best Online Report
Libby Chow, Peter Ellingsen, Julian Kingma The Age Online

Best Suburban or Regional Report in any Medium
Rebecca Urban Leader Community Newspapers

Best Three Headlines
Ian Sanderson ABC TV

Best Page Layout
Warwick McFadyen The Sunday Age

Best Illustration in any Medium
Justin Garnsworthy BRW

Best Graphic Design in any Medium
Judy Green The Age

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.