2015 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year

Whateley's Gordon Award acceptance speech

Journalist Gerard Whateley won the inaugural 2015 Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year Award for his formidable interviews and in-depth reporting of AFL’s biggest scandals.

The judges praised Whateley’s work across radio, television and print as having “a no-nonsense directness about it that treats the audience with respect.” “His entry showed journalistic versatility combined with a knowledge and understanding of a wide range of sport,” they said. “He can move comfortably from a forensic and combative interview to the colour and enthusiasm of calling a Melbourne Cup or a cricket Test. His television interviewing can be penetrating.” 

The 2015 judges were Neil Mitchell, Roy Masters and Nicole Jeffery. 

Michael Gordon introduces the inaugural award named in his father's memory 

Press Club CEO Mark Baker introduces inaugural Gordon Award 

The other finalists for the 2015 award were Greg Baum of The Age, Will Swanton of the Australian and Michael Warner of the Herald Sun.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.