2017 Australian Journalist of the Year: Finalists announced

The Melbourne Press Club has announced finalists for the 2017 Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award, Australia’s most prestigious media prize. The winner receives a $20,000 prize, a certificate and permanent recognition for excellence.

This year's finalists are:

Adele Ferguson, The Age
For investigations into business scandals, including in the retirement village sector

Nick McKenzie & Richard Baker, The Age
For extended reporting on China's influence over Australian politics

Sally Sara, ABC
For her extensive African coverage

Cameron Stewart, The Australian
For his coverage of US politics and society

The winner will be announced at the Quill Awards dinner at Melbourne's Crown Palladium on Friday 16 March 2018.

The Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year award is sponsored by The Age and Virgin Australia.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.