2019 Quills: Innovation in Journalism

Margaret Burin, Nathan Hoad, Ben Spraggon & Matthew Liddy of ABC won the 2019 Innovation In Journalism Quill for 'The Amazon Race'.

Judges' citation

The Amazon Race was a standout entry, using a genuinely innovative technique to cover a story of strong public interest which was not easily accessible. The entry by the ABC Story Lab team used game technology to help immerse the viewer in the story and created a lasting impact which pushed the company involved to change its practices.

The winning entry

'The Amazon Race', ABC, 27 February 2019

'"They resent the fact I'm not a robot"', ABC, 27 February 2019

Highly commended

The Age Invisible Crime Team, The Age,'The Invisible Crime'

Other finalists

James Oaten, Danny Morgan & Jane Cowan, ABC, 'Catching a Catfish'

Nathanael Scott, Inga Ting & Alexander Palmer, ABC, 'Rich School, Poor School: Australia’s Great Education Divide'

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.