2019 Quills: The RACV Transport Quill

Matthew Johnston, James Campbell, Tom Minear & Kieran Rooney of the Herald Sun won the 2019 RACV Transport Quill for coverage of West Gate Tunnel contamination issues.

Judges' citation

In a year where transport dominated the Victorian political agenda, our winner was a genuine exclusive. These Herald Sun reporters were the first to uncover the chaos caused by toxic soil on the West Gate Tunnel project – a big story that continues to impact the way this massive infrastructure project is unfolding.

The winning entry

'Toxins detected in tunnel', Herald Sun, 18 July 2019

'West Gate Tunnel thrown into chaos', Herald Sun, 21 November 2019

Highly Commended

Ben Knight, Elias Clure, Yara Murray-Atfield & Andie Noonan, ABC, Tarneit Transport

Other finalists

Sarah Danckert & Timna Jacks, The Age, Melbourne Metro’s $2 Billion Blow-Out

Lana Murphy, Nine News, Danger Sign

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.