2019 Quills: The TAC Towards Zero Quill for Road Safety Reporting

Cathy Jacobs, Ben Knight, Mary Gearin & Cameron Best of  won the 2019 TAC Towards Zero Quill for Road Safety Reporting for their ABC News Road Safety Special.

Judges' citation

This was outstanding, comprehensive journalism by an ABC team: thirteen minutes of television devoted to reporting about all aspects of the road toll on the eve of the state government’s road safety summit. The special led a prime-time news service and was exceptionally extensive, with multiple reporters covering every angle and drawing on fresh and file footage.

The winning entry

ABC News Road Safety Special

Highly Commended

Benjamin Preiss, The Age, Speed Limit Slashed By 20km/h In Trial On Toll

Other finalists

Stephanie Anderson, Nine News, Medical Episodes

Olivia Shying, Geelong Advertiser, Geelong Road Safety

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.