29th Quill Awards entries open

Entries for the Melbourne Press Club's 29th Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism are now open.

The Quills are the premier media awards in Victoria, celebrating the best work in over 30 categories across all media.

The best category winner is selected as the Gold Quill winner, receiving a $7,500 prize.

The 29th Quill Awards are for work published in the 2023 calendar year.

Learn more

Enter the Quills

Newsroom poster download


National awards

Entries for the MPC's national awards – the Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year and the Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year – are also open.

Find out more about these awards – and the great journalists they are named for – on our awards homepage.



Entries close on Monday 29 January 2024. Finalists in all categories will be named soon after, and winners will be announced at the annual Quills dinner on 15 March 2024.

For details and online entries visit the Quills homepage.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.