48th Graham Perkin Award Winners Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros have won the 48th Graham Perkin Award for coverage of the PwC Tax Leaks Scandal.

The award was presented at the 29th Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism at Crown Palladium on 15 March 2024.



Judges' citation

In a story that dominated the news cycle last year, Edmund Tadros and Neil Chenoweth exposed how senior figures at PWC leaked confidential Treasury documents to drum up tax business for the firm. The revelations led to the break-up of the accounting giant, the departure of the CEO and the biggest crackdown on misconduct by tax advisors in Australian history. Tadros and Chenoweth displayed true courage and determination in pursuing various leads, including how governments had become far too reliant on the work of the big consulting firms. It is truly memorable and excellent journalism in the fine Graham Perkin tradition

The winning entry

Hedley Thomas, National Chief Correspondent, The Australian, for coverage of the criminal justice system


Award acceptance speeches

Other 48th Perkin award finalists

Stephanie March of the ABC for coverage of global affairs

Kate McClymont of the Sydney Morning Herald for coverage of indecent assault claims against broadcaster Alan Jones

Nick Mckenzie of The Age for agenda-setting reporting

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.