National legends join Media Hall of Fame

Adrian Atkins, former partner of the late John Newfong, accepts the induction award on Newfong’s behalf. Picture by Mat Lynn

Another 48 greats of national journalism have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame.

They include world-famous war cameramen Neil Davis and David Brill, TV legends Ray Martin and Geraldine Doogue, magazine queen Dulcie Boling, Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Pat Oliphant and ground-breaking Aboriginal journalist John Newfong.

Also honoured was the celebrated former political editor of The Age and The Australian, Michael Gordon, a champion of social justice journalism who died suddenly in February this year.

The inductions were announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne that completed the national foundation of the Media Hall of Fame – a decade-long project of the Melbourne Press Club.

Launched in Victoria in 2012, the Media Hall of Fame last year expanded to include NSW. This year’s inductees include greats from Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania and the territories.

The Australian Media Hall of Fame seeks to demonstrate the importance and public benefit of journalism in the face of threats from digital disruption and political interference.

“The achievements of these extraordinary men and women shows the abiding importance of great journalism for our democracy and why we should celebrate and defend it,” Melbourne Press Club CEO Mark Baker said.

The Advisory Panel for this year’s nominations was former editor of The Age Michael Smith, former editor-in-chief of The Australian Chris Mitchell, media historian Bridget Griffen-Foley of Macquarie University and Mike Bowers, photographer-at-large for The Guardian.

The full list of November 2018 inductees

Joe Alexander Bert Lillye
Charles Bean Douglas Lockwood
Dulcie Boling Hugh Lunn
Jim Bowditch Catherine Martin
Ted Bray Ray Martin
David Brill Ken May
Charmian Clift Keith McDonald
Bob Cronin Maxine McKew
James Cruthers Bill Mitchell
Gay Davidson Paul Murray
Neil Davis John Newfong
Geraldine Doogue Pat Oliphant
Shirley Stott Despoja Andrew Olle
John B.Fairfax Steve Pennells
Ian Fitchett Alan Reid
Peter Game Paul Rigby
Michael Gordon Gerard Ryle
Max Harris Howard Sattler
Derryn Hinch John Silvester
Les Hinton Trevor Sykes
Adelie Hurley Hedley Thomas
Ken Inglis Jack Waterford
George Johnston Don Whitington
Tony Koch Marian Wilkinson


Visit the Australian Media Hall of Fame website to see profiles of all of the inductees.


















Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.