Quills entries close 1 February

Entries for the 2017 Quill Awards for excellence in Victorian journalism are closing soon - on Thursday, 1 February. 

This year there are 29 Quill Award categories covering print, broadcasting and digital media. A new podcasting award has been created to recognise outstanding achievement in this rapidly-growing medium, and in another change, the suburban and regional and rural journalism categories have once again been separated into distinct  awards.

The Gold Quill will be awarded to the work judged best of all category winners. The $7500 prize again is supported by Melbourne Press Club principal sponsor Virgin Australia.

The 2017 Quill Awards – the 22nd - are open to all journalists employed by Victorian media organisations or those who work primarily for Victorian media outlets.

Melbourne Press Club members are entitled to one free entry. Non-members and members submitting additional entries pay an administration fee of $105 per entry.

Finalists in all categories will be named in early March and winners will be announced at the annual Quills dinner at Crown Palladium on Friday 16 March. Bookings for the dinner open in early February.

The Melbourne Press Club's two national awards also close on 1 February.

Now in its 42nd year, the Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year is the most coveted prize in Australian journalism. It carries a $20,000 prize and permanent recognition for excellence, and is supported by The Age and Virgin Australia.

The 3rd Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year recognises excellence in sports journalism in all media across all codes and all regions of Australia. Winners receive a $10,000 prize.

For all enquiries, please contact entries@melbournepressclub.com or 03 9614 2779.

Apply to join the Melbourne Press Club

Membership is $100 for journalists, $150 for associate members and $40 for students.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Keep up to date with all our events, announcements and special offers.